Chat with us, powered by LiveChat
This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Store   |   Nursing Careers   |   Search   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join/Renew
Share |


Annual Convention Program Committee
Plans and develops the educational program for the convention.   

2018 Program Committee

Chair: Clifton Kenon, JR, DNP, MSN, RN, IBCLC, RLC

Staff Co-Chair: Donna Ruth MSN, RN-BC

Jennifer L. Doyle, MSN, WHNP-BC

Bethan Faulkner, DNP, NEA-BC, CCNS, RNC-NIC

Lori Folken, BSN, RNC, C-EFM

Jennifer Lemoine, DNP, APRN, NNP-BC

Shannon McKinney, MNSc, APRN, RNC-OB, WHNP-BC

Samantha Sommerness, DNP, APRN, CNM

Julie Zimmerman, MSN, RNC-OB, C-EFM

Elizabeth Rochin PhD, RN, NE-BC
Carolyn Vanderwyst


Section Advisory Committee

Assist sections in assessing, planning, implementing and evaluating strategies for success at the regional level.

Board Representative
Kristine Rimbos, MS, CNS, RNC-OB, C-EFM


District 1
Robin Cothrell-Tubbs, MSN, RNC

District 2 and Chair
Dodi Gauthier, Med, BSN, RNC-OB, C-EFM

District 3
Geri Tamborelli, MS, BSN, RN

District 4
Julie Zimmermann, MSN, RNC-OB, C-EFM

District 5
Judy Wilson‐Griffin MSN, RNC

District 6
Mary Schubert, MSN, RNC, NE-BC, EFM-C

District 7
Elizabeth Cunningham MSN, RNC, C‐EFM

District 8
Deborah Cruz MSN, CRNP, RNC

District 9
Gerald Lowe, MSN, RN

District 10

District 11

District 12
Rosalina Butao MSN, RN


2018 Emerging Leaders

AWHONN is delighted to announce the 2018 AWHONN Emerging Leader Cohort! The program kicked off in Las Vegas, Nevada in February 2018. The AWHONN Emerging Leader Program is possible through a generous grant from Johnson & Johnson Campaign for Nursing’s Future.


Michelle Hirschkorn, MSN, RNC-OB, CNS (Oregon)

Kellie Griggs, DNP, MSN-Ed, RNC-OB (North Carolina)

Linda Cassar, DNP, RNC-OB (Virginia)

Kristin Srna, RN, MSN (Kansas)

Shelley Jensen, RN, BSN, MHA, NEA-BC (Idaho)

Kimberly Hughes, DNP, RNC-OB, CNS (Texas)

Marin Skariah, RN, MSN, FNP-BC, IBCLC (New York)

Cheryl Parker, DNP, CRNA, MSN, RNC-OB, RN, BSN (Kentucky)

Tracy Buder, RNC, MSN (Ohio)

Megan Raleigh, BSN, RNC-OB (Texas)


Educational Advisory Committee

The AWHONN Educational Advisory Committee is a new committee in 2018, which was formed to engage nursing education experts in providing recommendations for new and existing AWHONN products and programs. Education Advisory Committee members commit to a two (2) year term.


Our Education Advisory Committee members are looking forward to engaging with nursing educators in their respective regions and gaining additional insights to the needs of nursing teams.


Elizabeth McIntyre, MSN, WHNP-BC, C-EFM (Indiana)

Margie Bridges, MN, ARNP-BC, RNC-OB (Washington)

Heather DiCioccio, DNP, RNC-MNN (Ohio)

Christina Westveer, MSN, RNC-MNN, CCE (North Carolina)

Jennifer Gallagher, BSN, RNC (Wyoming)

Sharon Fickley, MSN, RNC-OB, C-EFM, CNL (Virginia)

Nancy Comello, DNP, CNM, RNC, C-EFM (Wisconsin)


Development Committee

  • Create a culture of philanthropy at AWHONN with AWHONN members and industry
  • Raise funds through charitable giving to support AWHONN's mission - to promote women's and newborns' health

2017 Development Committee
Chair: Martha Griffith Lavender, PhD, RN
Co-Chair: Maggie Nayyar
Lynn Erdman, MN, RN, FAAN
Emily Drake, PhD, RN, FAAN 
Jennifer Doyle, MSN, WHNP-BC
Suzanne L. Ketchem, MSN, RNC-OB, CNS M
Barbara (Barb) Tewell, MSN, RNC-OB 
Margaret (Betsy) Babb Kennedy, PhD, RN, CNE
Janice Semler, MS, RNC 
Geraldine (Geri) Tamborelli, MS, RN 
Brian Couchon, AD, RNC-OB
Kristine Rimbos, MS, CNS, RNC-OB, C-EFM 
Divya Rajpoot, RNC-OB, BSN, MHA 
Matthew Medina, RNC-OB/EFM, MSN 
Valerie Johnson
Luigi Cumo
Anna Whitesell

Finance Committee
Supports the board and staff on a wide range of financial matters including operating budgets, long term financial planning, and financial implications of financial planning.


2017 Finance Committee
Chair: Carol Burke, MSN, APRN, RNC-OB, CNS
Susan Dendrinos,MSN,RNC 
Joyce Arand, MS, CNS, RNC, NEA-BC 
Kathy Parkes, RN, IBCLC, FILCA
Monica LeGrand, MSN, RNC-OB, C-EFM
Lynn Erdman, RN, MN, CNS, FAAN 
Jennifer L. Doyle, MSN, WHNP-BC
Carol Strickland, Staff Liaison
Marie A.Watson, Staff Liaison

Membership Committee

The mission of the Membership Committee is to ensure a growing and vital organization by providing recommendations, policies, procedures, and strategies to help improve membership growth and retention.


2017 Membership Committee

Chair: Barbara S. Tewell, MSN, RNC-OB
Ashley N. Locklear, MSN, RNC-OB, C-EFM 
Dina Viscount, MSN, RNC, APRN 
Jessica McNeil, MSN, RNC-OB, C-EFM 
Lashea Wattie RNC, C-EFM, BSN, MSN, M.Ed. 
Lashelle Leftheris, MSN, RNC 
Raquel “Kelly” Walker, DNP, MSN, RNC-MNN 
Susan Hale, MSN, RN, C-EFM 
Tammy Sand, RNC-OB, BSN 
Tracey Bradley-Simmons, RN, BSN, CCM 
Jody Hoyos, Staff Liaison

Nominating Committee
Identifies and interviews prospective candidates for the Board.
Recommends a slate to the Board.


2017 Nominating Committee
Chair: Suzanne “Suze” Ketchem, MSN, RNC-OB, CNS
Paula Gillette, RN, MSN, CENP
Candace L. Rouse, RN, C, DNP, CNS-BC
Nefertiti Cano, MSN, MBA, RNC-OB, EFM-C, FNP-BC, DNPc
April S. Loeffler, MS, RNC-OB
Beth Cassidy, MSN, RNC-OB, CNML
Susan Drummond, RN, MSN, C-EFM
Mary Hickey, Ed.D, WHNP-BC, RNC
Yolande McCray, BSN, MSN
Lynn Erdman, MN, RN, FAAN
LaRhonda Usher, Executive Administrative Manager

Public Policy Committee
Identifies key legislative and policy priorities for AWHONN.


2017 Public Policy Committee
Susan Peck, MSN, WHNP, Chair 
Jacqueline Rychnovsky, PhD, RN, CPNP, Staff Co-Chair
Chandra Burnside, MSN, RN, CNL 
Lisa Cleveland, PhD, RN, PNP-BC, IBCLC, NTMNC
Cheryl Larry-Osman, MS, CNM, CNS 
Catherine McGurk, BSN, MSN
Monica McLemore, MPH, BSN, PhD 
Rita Nutt, DNP, RN
Stefanie Sonico, MSN, CENP 
Ebony Waugh, RNC, DNP, MSN, RNC-OB



As a nurse you have the ability to make a difference in your patients’ lives. AWHONN membership provides you with the resources, tools and opportunities to provide the best care to your patients. JOIN NOW
Purchase our high-quality clinical content through books, live courses, online education, webinars and our groundbreaking line of evidence-based guidelines. PURCHASE NOW
Online Learning Center
The definitive resource for interactive, engaging CNE education through our Postpartum Hemorrhage, Maternal Fetal Triage and POEP online courses, webinars, award-winning journals and much more. ACCESS NOW


Association of Women's Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses is accredited as a provider of continuing nursing education by the American Nurses Credentialing Center's Commission on Accreditation.

AWHONN is approved by the California Board of Registered Nursing, Provider #CEP580. Accredited status does not imply endorsement by AWHONN or the American Nurses Credentialing Center of any commercial products displayed or discussed in conjunction with educational activities.

Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal