Thursday, April 18, 2019

The Association of Women’s Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses (AWHONN) is proud to announce the 2019 Distinguished Professional Service and Award of Excellence Recipients. These awards are given to nurses whose accomplishments in the specialties of women’s health, obstetric and neonatal nursing, as well as their contributions to AWHONN are exemplary.

The Distinguished Professional Service Award is AWHONN’s highest honor. Nominations are sought from AWHONN’s Board of Directors and AWHONN’s Board selects the winner.

Distinguished Professional Service Award
Joan E. Edwards, PhD, RNC, CNS, FAAN

The Awards of Excellence honor AWHONN members recognized by their peers as exemplifying the highest standards of service to nursing. The Awards of Excellence are based on six categories: Practice, Practice Bedside, Scholarly Education, Clinical Education, Leadership, and Research. Nominations are sought from AWHONN members and selected by AWHONN’s Board of Directors. The Practice Bedside was not awarded this year.

Award of Excellence in Practice
Ludrena Rodriguez, DNPc, WHNP-BC, RNC-OB, C-EFM

Award of Excellence in Scholarly Education
Carol Shieh, DNSc, MPH, RNC-OB, FAAN

Award of Excellence in Clinical Education
Sarah Copple, MSN, RNC-MNN

Award of Excellence in Leadership
Monica McLemore, PhD, RN, MPH

Award of Excellence in Research
Diane Spatz, PhD, RN-BC, FAAN

The Association of Women’s Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses (AWHONN) is a 501(c)3 nonprofit membership organization. Our mission is to empower and support nurses caring for women, newborns, and their families through research, education, and advocacy.


For more information, please contact Shannon Doolin at 202-261-2410 or